Questions about JSON vs TMX

I just developed a Tiled JSON parser for Rust, and it is working (save for a few trailing commas in JSON format) but I noticed the JSON format is a lot more verbose. Forgive me in advance, I’m very new to this:

Map stores Layers, but so does objectgroup in Tile, but objectgroup requires no id? Will Tile.objectgroup match a layer in Map.layers?

It seems also that the XML and JSON versions don’t really match up 1 to 1–each class has substantially more fields in JSON. Why is that?

Finally, does JSON receive first-class support along with the XML version or should I focus on an XML version?

Thank you!

That’s great! What’s up with those trailing commas?

No, the objectgroup stored on a tile is a stand-alone object layer used to store the collision shapes associated with a tile. It doesn’t have a layer ID and is not part of the map.

Their version is manually incremented when there are significant changes and generally to match the corresponding Tiled release. I would advice not to rely much on the version though, and if necessary rely on checking whether a certain property exists. Only the JSON format changed in a backwards-incompatible way so far with version 1.2.

The JSON format may seem to include more properties because it includes many of them even if they have their default value, whereas the TMX format is more consistent in leaving out these attributes. In the end they both store the same data.

JSON and TMX are both considered first-class formats that store everything. Additions in new versions are always added to both of them.

1 Like

Thank you so much!
I wish I had started asking questions sooner with your first-class responses.

It is good to know that the layer in Tiled.objectgroup doesn’t require ids. I am probably going to load it with different rules to enforce id on map.layers at least.