Are there any specific graphics needed for Tiled's development?

I’m an artist learning more and more about constructing tilesets through the use of Tiled. I see there is continued progress and growth for the program. Are there any specific graphic needs that I could pitch in to help in this growth?

Hello,

Tiled itself is relatively independent from specific graphics. It is “only” a program which allows you to put together graphics basically. So Tiled itself only requires a few icons for the toolbar basically :smile:

However there is an open source art community at http://opengameart.org/ for example :smile:
Or look for open source games which use tiled and see what you can contribute there.

However thanks for your interest :wink:

Regards,
Ablu

Thanks for the reply. I appreciate the information. I had thought maybe there would be development releases that would highlight new functionality, and something I could do would create a bit of assets to highlight the new function. This way perhaps Tiled might build a set of assets geared specifically for the application, uniquely highlighting it’s functions.

Thanks for the information again, and feel free to drop me a message if such need arises! :smile:

Well, in fact demonstrating the new features is what I’ve been notoriously bad at with each Tiled release. Any help with improving that situation would be really appreciated.

For example, so far there are no examples shipping with Tiled demonstrating:

• the use of object layers (neither for annotations nor for visual purposes)
  • the support for animated tiles
  • the support for tilesets that are a collection of individual images
  • the image layer

Of course, the graphics for such examples could be taken either from opengameart.org or drawn by yourself. Maybe you could show some examples of your work?

And apart from that, if you’re interested I’m looking for help with: