How to use a .js exported map with vanilla javascript

I’m new to game development and the docs are way too hard to understand. I just want to know how to go from exporting a map as a .js file and using it as a map in javascript game. The experted file is pretty hard to decipher no matter how basic I make the map and I’ve yet to be able to have it show up as a background. I feel like you have a pretty powerful tool here but the documentation is really not digestible and there aren’t really a lot of other resources out there for someone to learn how to import the code into their game. I’m interested in learning how to use a JSON file also, but honestly I’d like to be able to grasp both implementations. I don’t really know what I’m expecting in terms of an answer here, but could someone like maybe point me in the right direction for even beginning to try and understand what is going on? Would be much appreciated.

My goal is to be able to use tiled to set up collision detection but at this point I’m just taking it one step at a time.

Unless you specifically need to use JS (e.g. you’re running a system that doesn’t have a JSON library, or using an engine designed around the Tiled JS format), I think you should use JSON instead, and not worry about the JS format at all. JSON is easier to read and just as easy to parse. You get the same data from both formats (as far as I can tell), but with JSON you get an object you can process when you’d like, whereas with JS you get a function that needs to be executed and which adds the map data to a predetermined list.

The TMX documentation should have most of what you need. The property names and general structure and most of the possible values are the same between TMX and JSON.

Beyond that, where specifically are you getting stuck? The basic approach for just getting data needed to render your tile layers is: