Looking for ideas about foreground sorting for multi-tile walls

I have a castle wall tileset that can be thought of as 1x3 vertical slices in my world:

tmx%20-%20Tiled

I want the wall, as a unit, to be registered to my engine’s foreground sorter. If the player is behind the wall, I want it to render over them. My current implementation has worked great for whole objects by just taking the bottom pixel of the sprite and using that to accurately sort its render priority in the world. Tilemaps don’t really fit into this at all… Any ideas? I am fairly new to Tiled.

My current workaround is to render the walls as their own entity and sorting the entire wall as one large game object. It works, but it isn’t very flexible.

There are several ways to do it. You could seperate the wall tiles into their own tileset, and say the tiles are 32x96 instead of 32x32 (kinda like what you are doing now).

Another way is to add a custom property to the tile itself with the height-axis of the tile. So the bottom tile would have 0, middle 1 and the top 2.

An other possibility is to have a separate tileset with numbers as tiles, and an extra tilelayer for the height data. You don’t draw this extra layer, but instead just lookup which tile it has, and use that information for the height.

All these solutions have pro’s and con’s, and as far as I know there is no perfect solution that works for every game.

1 Like

Actually officially typing the walls as 1x3 tiles makes a lot of sense. I am going to do that and see how it goes.

This actually leads me to a new question. When I render each tile to my game, it will likely be its own entity with its own properties. Even in a modest level, there will be a minimum of 400 tiles on the screen. With each of them being their own entity, I would not be surprised if performance starts to become a concern. Is this talked about much?