Override/Extend regular tile placement tool

Hi there! Im trying to add function that let’s me mirror any tiles placed on my map onto another part of the map. But I can’t quite figure out how to connect to the tile placement action. I looked for a connect() signal, but didn’t find one.

I have a function that let’s me select an area of placed tiles and mirror those, but I also want to be able to mirror everything I place down instantly.

Is there a way to extend the regular tile placement tool? (Stamp Brush).

Thank you in advance!

I think you might be able to implement something like this using the TileMap.regionEdited signal. That one should be emitted whenever a tile layer is edited using some tool (except for scripted tools, which I think have no way of triggering this signal at the moment…).

Thank you for the quick answer! That does look like something I could use, however I cant seem to find that signal… it doesn’t recognize tiled.regionEdited. I’m quite new to this API so it would be awesome if you could poke me in the right direction :sweat_smile:

I thought I could do something like this:

// This function will be called whenever a tile is placed
function tilePlaced(region, layer 	) {
    // Logic
    console.log("Tile placed at (" + region.rect.x + "," + region.rect.y + ")");
}

// Connect the function to the "regionEdited" signal
var tiledPlaceReact = tiled.regionEdited.connect(tilePlaced);

But yeah, regionEdited is not recognized.

That’s because it is a signal on TileMap instances. If you want to hear about this signal from all opened tile maps, you can write it for example as follows:

function regionEdited(map, layer, region) {
    tiled.log(`Region ${region} of layer ${layer.name} on map ${map.fileName} has been edited`);
}

function connectRegionEdited(asset) {
    if (asset.isTileMap) {
        asset.regionEdited.connect((region, layer) => {
            regionEdited(asset, layer, region);
        });
    }
}