Tile Pallets - Artist Block

Hello out there!

I’ve working on a 2d platformer game quite awhile now. Our engine isn’t limited to Tiles, but we’ve built an importer to utilize tiles to build out scenery. I’m an artist, and I’ve worked with tiled and have developed many assets for our game. At the moment I find I’m in sort of an artist block.

Perhaps we have too many methods of bringing art into the game, or perhaps I have pushed myself too far to come up with flexible options instead of simple solutions. Whatever the case, I’m reaching out to see if anyone is willing to share tile pallet/template solutions. I feel like I’m in a place where I’m getting too meta about all the ways tiles could be used and combined, and I’ve just sort of had a hard crash. I look at tiles now and its like my brain blue screens.

I can’t help but feel that if I could talk to whoever put together the tile sets for The Curse of Issyos for even like 20-30 mins, or even just see 1 or several of their pallets my brain would be cleansed and I could move forward.

Something about simpler older game tiles. They can be masterfully crafted and provide a straight forward solution. Where I am at now I doubt every move. Should I go by 64x64, 32x32? Border sets over the top of texture sets or combine them?

Some examples:
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/2967552/Tiled/Tiled%20Examples/Tiled%20Examples/Retro%20Material%20Test/RetroMaterialTest05.png

Tiles at 64x64 figuring out walls, edges, columns, windows, objects

I’m very sorry to hear about your block, though unfortunately I may not really understand your problem. Your tiles look like they’d be easiest to work with at 64x64, so why doubt if 32x32 would be good? Do you need additional flexibility in placement sometimes?