Automapping or Terrain for SideScroller map?

Hello,

I’m relatively new to Tiled, and before I started using it I had been messing around with Unity’s Auto Tile functionality, but am currently not proceeding with Unity as my game engine.

I am making a sidescroller, and can (mostly) wrap my mind around Unity’s Auto Tile creation for use with that type of game (reference here: https://pandaroo.itch.io/tilemap-auto-rule-tile-unity-template for general idea, even if I’m not using that exact template)

I cannot, for the life of me, figure out how to replicate this type of functionality in Tiled. Terrain only seems to be designed for a 3x3 set of tiles (with maybe some minor randomization within it) and then tries to place as the whole 3x3 tile each time rather than letting you draw out the whole thing? (Unless I’m missing somewhere where I can paint terrain as a 1 tile tall). This would not likely meet the needs of drawing something like stairs or bridges unless I’m greatly misunderstanding.

Automapping also doesn’t seem to be the right answer, but it may also be because I just outright don’t understand the ruleset process. (I was hopeful to find an extension that simplified the ruleset creation process to be akin to Unity’s “click these allow/disallow arrows”, but it doesn’t seem like anyone has anything like that yet).

I did some searching on the forums, but most of the questions around sidescrollers/platformers don’t seem to be quite based on this (or have answers). Is there a good method of reproducing this type of functionality in Tiled?

As an example, here’s some tilesets I’m trying to work with:

Any/all help is greatly appreciated. Thank you!

If you hold Ctrl while using the Terrain brush, you can paint only a corner to get a 2x2 terrain blob.