Create and Isometric map with the orthographic mode

Hi, I’m currently trying to make a 2D isometric map for my game project in Unity. However the converter Tiled2Unity doesnt support isometric maps. My only option left is to create it in orthographic mode and then rotate it inside Unity. But being a complete newbie I have no idea how to do it, making a isometric map in orthographic mode that is.

Any help?

You can’t really make an isometric map in orthographic mode, unless you know how to juggle your tiles around to make that work. For example, I believe the Starcraft I level editor essentially managed to produce an isometric looking map with an orthographic grid. Of course if you do it that way, you would not be rotating your map in Unity afterwards.

If you’re going to do it by rotating the map in Unity, then I guess you would either have flat tile textures that won’t look strange when rotated, or you could squeeze your isometric tiles into squares for usage in Tiled so that they will at least look as intended once rendered rotated in Unity.

Alternatively, did you try contacting @Seanba about adding support for isometric maps to Tiled2Unity? That would obviously be the most comfortable approach.

I have some support for Isometric maps in Unity with UTiled. It is source
only, and not in the downloadable versions:
https://bitbucket.org/vinull/utiled

You can use this or take the code you want for your own solution. You will
need to think though how you indend to use the map and setup your layers
accordingly. Since each layer will become a mesh, your player will not be
able to move behind tiles as expected. I actually got the chance to meet
Sean at SXSW and we talked a bit on this very issue, and didn’t come up
with a generic approach to the problem.

Keep in mind Sean’s tool is a lot more polished than mine and I’m kinda
expecting anyone who uses UTiled at this point to be comfortable with
diving into the code. It’s why I’ve not added it to the Tiled wiki (and