How to create a mapset for Tiled in Photoshop

Hello there. I am an artist a little brainer towards technicalities. To create an Isometric map, my team generally paint each tile in photoshop but the end result looks too inorganic. I wonder there should be some way to paint a huge map in photoshop and slice into tiles for tile-set. Could you please help me with this?

Your question reminds me of this sad thread on the old Tiled mailing list, where somebody demonstrated that he had written a tool to do exactly that, but he never responded with the source code.

Right now Tiled can’t help you with this, but I could imagine shipping a little tool to do exactly that. Or to potentially even support using an imagine as a tileset directly with isometric shaped tiles, since that would be quite interesting from a texture memory and drawing overhead perspective. But that would be quite a big change.

In general, it’s just about making a mask image with sharp edges and using it to cut out the isometric shapes from your graphics. Though note that this is mostly interesting only for ground tiles, since stuff like trees and walls are easier to work with when they are not cut into diamond shapes.

I know this is an older thread, but I hope the bump is just a reminder that this feature is greatly sought after.

As a non-programmer, I have a tough time conceptualizing how to make an external tool to do this in Tiled. But really, and quite honestly, I am at the point where I would be willing to PayPal someone who could make the script necessary to make it work… It’s so sad that fellow pulled it off in 2012 but it never truly manifested…

Out of curiosity, supposing you did have a chance at developing such a script, what features would you envision to have in the tool, and how does the tool fit in any particular workflow?

For examples of what I mean