Options for more flexible terrain transitions?

I’ve been using Tiled for a few months now while I prototype my game in HaxeFlixel, and I love it! My game has a Metroid-type feel to it, so the collidable tiles form sort of “blobs”. The terrain tool works great, but is not flexible enough for the type of look I’m going for. For instance, I can’t have 1-tile-high or 1-tile-wide terrain. Since I’m not using the outside edges for transitions, all of the edges are baked into the different tiles.

Basically, I’m looking for this: http://www.saltgames.com/2010/a-bitwise-method-for-applying-tilemaps/

Here is an example of that uses 47 tiles, to account for inside corners as well. Basically I would like to set a tile of a certain type, and then it would look to see what adjacent tiles are set to that type, and then lookup which tile image to use for the tile I just set and any adjacent tiles.

I’m sure I could set this up painstakingly using the auto-tile feature, but I wanted to see if anyone else has had any luck using Tiled? It seems like a simple enough use case that I’m surprised this isn’t possible.

Maybe I have missed an obvious solution. Of course I can do this in-game, but I’d like to have it happen in the editor so I can see what it looks like at design time.

Thanks for any tips or advice!

Using the sides instead of the corners (or even both in combination) is an extension to the terrain tool that would certainly make sense, but indeed it hasn’t been implemented yet.

Here I’ve tried to shift the tile graphics in the example you referred to, to make it work with a corner-based selection rather than a side-based selection, but you’ll notice that I had to change some corner graphics slightly. This is because either approach misses support for certain situations.

Original side-based method

Attempt at adjusting the tiles to work with Tiled’s corner-based terrain tool