Auto shadow / paint over tile

Hello,
I’m using Tiled to make a Spectrum Next game and I use to differently coloured tile sets to make level.
One bright, the other dark (both exactly the same tile set - just different palettes) where I use the dark set as a shadow.
So I will map out my level using the bright tile set (tiles 0 - 512 as an example).
I then need to go over this level map and replace some tiles with the darker version to give it a shadow effect (so it will be tile + 512 for example).
Is there a quick way to set up Tiled so that I can just draw over the tile set that is already down and make that area use the darker tile set?
I’m pretty new to Tiled and an artist (not a coder), but if there’s a way to do this it would save me hours of work and maybe even allow me to do slightly more detailed levels for my game.
Thanks for any advice,
Mike.

I don’t think there’s a built-in quick way ): To do this quickly, you’d need to write a script that adds N to all tiles within a selection.

Non-script ways:

If your “shadow” tileset is a separate tileset, you could make a copy of your base map and change it to use the shadow tileset as the base tileset by editing the TMX/JSON file. Then, you could copy+paste the parts you need into your base map.

You could use the Select Same Tile tool to select and replace instances of each given tile without accidentally affecting other tiles. This is so slow that I’d only recommend it if you have a fairly small number of tiles, and not 512 of them xP

Thanks for the info.
I’ll try taking a look at the scripting area and see if it’s going to be easy enough for me to get my brain around been able to do it.

Here’s an example of a tool that draws a tile rectangle:

It shows how you can build a preview of the change and then apply it. It does this based on the currently selected tiles, but it could also inspect the tiles on the currently selected tile layer instead.

Hi Bjorn,