Carry over tile map to a website

I am working on a map in Tiled Map Editor that I want to use as the basis for a web application / website. On the website, there will be a interactive map with the same basic structure as the tiled map.

If possible, the website will be created using HTML, CSS and JavaScript. I imagine a good way to start would be to export the map as a JavaScript file and then find a way to incorporate this into my website?

The most important information I need to carry over is probably the position and class of each individual tile. I will also need to recreate the isometric perspective from the TMX file.

I’m a noob, but somewhat familiar with JavaScript :slight_smile:

I’d suggest you look at Phaser, which has built-in support for rendering Tiled maps in a browser (unless you’re looking to implement more of this yourself). There are many other options as well, check out the Libraries and Frameworks page in the manual for a list.

Just to answer this, no, I don’t think exporting the map as a .js file is currently a good way to go. This was a bit of a hacky solution to allow including a map in an HTML file using a regular script tag and avoid the need for a manual HTTP request. I’d suggest to pick an engine and have a look at the recommended way of shipping Tiled maps for that engine.

Thank you for the reply!

To clarify, my website is not a game, even though it will contain some level of interactivity. It’s better to think of it as a normal website that is structured like a tile map.

It’s important that the website is as light-weight as possible. The code needs to be simple enough that it can run directly in the browser without the help of additional plugins/resources. Loading times is a big no-no. I need to have complete control over the code so that I can change it over time.

Ideally, the website shouldn’t contain any bit of code or functionality that isn’t strictly needed (tailor made) for the website.