Collision Detection in GM 1.4xx

Hello, I am a pixel artist trying to set up a premade room creation and testing workflow for my small team. I really like Tiled so far. I have made a room in Tiled and imported it into Game Maker. It’s mostly working fine and my character can move around the room but is not colliding with walls.

I have a question regarding collisions, Tiled, and Game Maker.

I have a separate “collision” tile that I’ve placed over the wall tiles in Tiled, and set that tile’s bounding area as well. This is not enough for Game Maker. Game Maker laughed at me and nice try though.

So I’ve been scouring forums, reddit, youtube, and google to figure out the easiest way to have Game Maker recognize the Tiled collision settings.

Is this possible? Is there a simple solution? Is there a solution at all? Or is all collision detection done in game maker exclusively?

Currently the focus of the GameMaker export has been on matching the level visually and allowing objects to be instantiated. Actually I haven’t used GameMaker beyond a few short sessions to make sure this part of the export works as expected.

So the question is, how is collision generally done in GameMaker and what should Tiled export to enable a comfortable integration? Eventually I could have a look myself, but if you already have some experience with this any insights would be very appreciated.

For collisions in Game Maker Studio 1.4, take a look at Shaun Spalding’s tutorials on youtube. They are very very useful. Here’s one about collisions specifically : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Tnt-MMAkXDk

For collisions in GameMaker, I use a small custom square object that I call “obj_wall”. I instantiate it and stretch it over my tiles to define collisions. Right now I can instantiate this object in Tiled but I can’t change the xscale and yscale. If I change it’s size it’s back to 1:1 in GameMaker.