Creating Walls with Terrain Tool

Okay, so I’m new to Tiled but I absolutely love this program! I’ve spent the past hour and a half trying to figure this out; the closest I came was something about automapping a cave wall in this forum, which I’m not quite sure is what I want. So, here’s my issue: I am trying to create a wall using the following tileset I find on open game art:

You can see two, possibly three images that can be used to to make a terrain on the top left corner of this. I make the following selection:

http://imgur.com/a/1bLX5

I’ve tried several other ways of selecting it, but this seems to be the only way the wall comes out semi-decent. Still, if I paint too fast, I get the following:

http://imgur.com/a/Wmvfp

For one, I have no idea where these stupid gray spaces keep coming from. The walls themselves also seem off from what it should be. Also, I have to press and hold control to even get this kind of image. Lastly, the corners are incorrect. If you look at the sample that came with the tileset, it should look as follows:

So my question is: what on earth am I doing wrong? And how do I fix it? I appreciate any help that can be given to resolve this!!!

You can’t really paint terrain without having at least one tile that is entirely filled with that terrain. This is why you’re only seeing some results while holding Ctrl, since that makes it modify only part of a tile.

Fortunately, you have only black outside of your wall, and you can use that as the base terrain tile. The wall itself then becomes part of its transition to “something else”. So the following setup would work:

Thank you for your response! Unfortunately, that setup didn’t work. When I tried that, it only let me paint in black - even when I held control down. Any other suggestions?

Hmm, maybe you did something a little differently? It worked fine for me:

(currently have the tool set to Erase Terrain)