Having trouble getting my sprite sheet to fit in the tile set in tiled

Hi I’m a newbie, just starting today in fact, I’m following a online course where I was told to download a sprite sheet, open it in tiled, but my tiles are not aligned with the tile set in tiled, so when I click on a tile it’s not coming out as a whole tile but in segments of the tile, which creates lines and gaps, can anyone help?

Samantha, when you created a new Tileset for your sheet, did you specify the tile width, height and spacing/margins to match what is in your sheet?

Assuming your sprite sheet is evenly spaced and consistent in sizes, this should overlay a “grid” on your sheet that matches where your tiles actually are (no gaps/no clips).
Note: I have found I sometimes need to externally edit (PhotoShop or Paint) the Tileset images to ensure the images I want to use as tiles are evenly spaced, etc. Tiled simply puts a uniform grid down based on the above settings then you create a new Tileset.
Note also: To my knowledge, once you create a New Tileset, if those settings in the image above are not correctly matching your sheet, you cannot change them inside Tiled. Instead, trash the New Tileset, adjust those settings to properly match your image sheet, and try again until the Tileset grid lands where you want it.

1 Like

Hi Remusforte, Thanks for your response, As I am new to all of this, I found myself following others, I don’t think the sprite sheet was correct, I then later received the correct sprite sheet which solve this error.
But for the future, how would you know what size tiles your using to be able to fit nicely into the tile set, I know some one said by the pixels, but say that your using photo shop, how would you know,