Script for setting custom properties on objects

I’m an artist laying out objects in Tiled that are almost all images that require “assetKey” property to be named the same as the PNG. I am repeating this often manually and would love a script that I can run after dragging multiple tiles from a tileset.

Are you talking about Tile Objects? You might not need a script for that: if you set those properties on the tiles in the tileset, the Tile Objects will inherit them. You can then either read the tiles to get their “assetKey” when you load the map, or you can export with the “resolve object types and properties” setting enabled (in Edit > Preferences) to include that inherited property explicitly with the Tile Objects.

If that doesn’t work for you, I can try to write such a script, but I’ll need some more details on how you want the script to work:

• Are the tiles from an image collection, from a regular tileset, or both?
  • Should all Tile Objects have these properties set, or only the selected ones, or some other criteria? Tiled currently has no way to detect newly added objects except through a very tedious process that I wouldn’t dare code.
  • is this assetKey a string with just the file name of the PNG (e.g. “asset.png”), or a file path to the PNG?
  • Do you want this to be an action that you manually trigger, or something that runs automatically whenever you save the map?
  • If a given Tile Object’s assetKey doesn’t match its tile’s assetKey, should it be updated, or left as-is?

Edit: Had a go based on my guess as to what you’re going for.