8x8 tile inside of a 16x16 grid

Hello!
This is my first time using Tiled so I apologize if the question is a bit dumb. I am using an asset package that has mostly 16x16 tilesets, but also one 8x8 “decorations” tileset (mostly consisting of different flowers) which I want to use over my 16x16 grass. The issue is that by default it seems like I can only place these decorations in the bottom left corner of the cells. Is there any way in which I can place them in any of the 4 corners of the bigger cell?

EDIT: I think I found a workaround by using an Object layer instead of a normal tile layer. Is this the best way of achieving this?

EDIT2: Is there a way of placing the objects randomly? I know about the option in the toolbar for placing tiles randomly, but I can’t find it for objects.

1 Like

You can use Tile Objects to place decorations off-grid, yes. However, this is usually best for large decorations that are few in number, as Objects are usually less performant than tiles once loaded in-game, unless you take special care to treat them as static geometry, or make a custom export format that converts them to regular tiles.

You cannot place random Tile Objects. You could write a script that accomplishes this, but there’s no built-in feature. There’s been a feature request for it, but for the performance reasons above, it’s not the best idea.

Alternate approaches to your initial problem:

• Using an 8x8 map grid and loading your other tilesets as 8x8. This is how such tilesets were often used in practice in retro games. Of course, this can make the 16x16 tilesets less convenient to use, since each tile would be four tiles.
  • Using extra layers for the small decorations and offsetting those layers by 8px horizontally and/or vertically.